A Year of Remixes

Hey my little ponies! I hope the New Year has been treating you all well so far. We’re 8 days into it already, can you believe it? O__O

I’m aware that many people make resolutions at the start of each year, myself included, and sometimes we break them. *raises hand* My goals for the year are to do things to better myself — be more active (I walk/jogged for 2 miles at the gym yesterday… ugh), and read and write more (I’ve been journaling quite a bit since last month) — maybe even do something that scares me. What that is, I’m not sure yet. But I think I’m off to fairly decent start.

My friends Jennifer and Shanice told me that they made a resolution to not buy any new clothing including shoesย AT ALL this year except for bras and undies, and also thrifted items if they’re $7 and under. So they asked if I’d like to get in on it too. Being a fashion blogger I thought, “What will this mean for my blog? What about outfit posts? And wish lists?” And then I remembered I hardly posted any last year and I have a closet full of pretty dresses you’ve all yet to see! And wish lists posts are just that — wishes. It doesn’t mean I’m going to get anything I put on them. And this is going to be good for my wallet because I spent way too much on clothes last year. I don’t even wanna think about how much money I could’ve saved!

This’ll be a quite a challenge because I often found solace in shopping, but I can focus all that energy into things that will make me better.

Have any of you made any resolutions this year?

Cheers,
Nina

11 Comments

Filed under bloop, fashion, shoppin'

11 responses to “A Year of Remixes

  1. I think it would be interesting for a fashion blogger to repurpose stuff from their closet into different outfits if they’re setting out for that kind of resolution. A single post on how to wear a skirt five different ways is fun, but why not turn them into individual OOTD posts? I dunno, man, do what you gotta do!

    I love shopping too, but, I’m trying to save more money this year! Gotta make sacrifices. ;_;

    • I plan on doing individual posts for OOTDs rather than ones that show 5 ways to wear a certain item. Maybe at the end of the year I can do a collage to show how I’ve remixed certain dresses and whatnot throughout the year ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. sophierocious

    Cool idea. You’re going to save a lot of money! As a thrifter, I look forward to seeing what items your thrift finds. As for wishlists, maybe you can use them as inspiration! Maybe try thrifting to find similar outfits? Just a thought!

  3. gamerwife

    Whoa, that sounds like a pretty ambitious resolution, but probably one that I a lot of use would benefit from following. I also like the idea of creating thrifted versions of inspirational outfits.

    • Yeah, I found it quite daunting when my friend asked if I’d like to do it too. She saw some books I just bought and said, “Maybe we should add books to your list of things you can’t buy too.” But they were purchased with gift cards! ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. Good luck! _< Haha. I've decided that things obtained through sponsorships or gift certificates don't count and luckily I have underwear to last me for a year. So, yeah. This should be interesting. I'm looking forward to getting back in touch with my wardrobe. Let us know how it goes for you!

    – Anna

    http://www.melodicthriftychic.com

    • Ooh. It did not like my squinty face. Oh dear. The rest of this should read: “I’ve decided to do the same thing! I wanted to make an announcement, but I eventually decided against it. At least, if I fail, it won’t be a huge spectacle (insert quishy face) Haha.”

      • Awesome! I decided to make an announcement as a way to hold myself accountable. I did buy a dress from Hot Topic though, but that was my birthday present to myself and my friend said it should be okay if I use my Hot Cash to get a few things so long as it’s not over $30. After that, no more new clothes! This is gonna be so difficult, especially since I love ModCloth so much D:

        And I wish you luck with this challenge too!!

  5. Think of all the monies you’ll save! ALL THE MONIES! But we can each buy one clothing item when we get to Portland. :3 Just as a treat for our momentary success. ๐Ÿ˜€

  6. Oooh, what an awesome challenge. I can’t wait to see how it goes. This year, I made a resolution not to buy anything for one month, but I don’t think I could go a whole year!