Stripes & Poe-ka Dots

outfit details – dress: Passport Love // tote: Out of Print (buy here) // glasses: Derek Cardigan // boots: Steve Madden (buy here) // magnifying glass necklace: American Rag // Haunted Mansion necklace: League of Shadows (buy here) // bow: Me Oh Mine (buy here) //bracelet: Anna Grace Designs (buy here)

This Friday I’m heading to Portland! Thank goodness because I’ve been feeling very out of sorts lately, so I’m much too eager to escape California and explore a new city in another state. I’ve heard so many wonderful things about Portland, and I’ve been told by several people that I’d love it, so to say I’m excited about finally going is an understatement.  And we’re [Jen, Caitlin, and myself] dedicating a day to just wandering around Powell’s, which I cannot stop thinking about. If you’re not familiar with Powell’s, it’s one of the biggest bookstores around — it contains millions of used and new books within five glorious floors! God, that place must smell divine (book smell is one of the best smells). I really need to write down a book list because I feel like if I go in there without a game plan I will be lost and utterly overwhelmed.

Speaking of bookstores, this outfit shoot was done at Tom’s Used Books in Lodi. We don’t have a whole lot of bookstores around, so it’s nice to know this little gem isn’t too far away, and kittens roam throughout the whole store! Many of the books that are in my personal library have been purchased from Tom’s, including a copy of Breakfast at Tiffany’s that looks very much like a first edition, but I still can’t tell if it is or not — it doesn’t even say what edition it is inside the book. Anyhow, I thought it would be fun to do this shoot at Tom’s because of my Edgar Allan Poe, or rather Poe-ka Dot, tote from Out of Print. My mom got it for me for Valentine’s Day last month. Isn’t it the bestest?! I paired it with this burgundy dress I found at Ross last October. I normally don’t like what I call “mullet dresses” — it’s like, do you want to be a maxi dress or a mini? Make up your mind! But I really liked this one when I saw it because it had a Lady Mary/macabre-ish vibe to it. I also incorporated some Haunted Mansion pieces to the ensemble with my hair bow and necklace that feature the painting of the parasol girl from the stretching room. Edgar Allan Poe, Haunted Mansion… they’re both gloomy so I figured they could all work with this outfit. And my bullet bracelet was handmade by my friend Megan… like, seriously all handmade by her, right down to the hook and d-rings. She’s crazy talented. Her and I did a little jewelry trade, so I gave her one of my Ron Swanson necklaces for that beaut of a bracelet. Please check out her jewelry over at Anna Grace Design! 🙂

Do any of you have anything special planned for spring break?

Cheers,
Nina

5 Comments

Filed under fashion, geeky, out & about

5 responses to “Stripes & Poe-ka Dots

  1. Such a cute outfit! I love your belt.
    xo
    styleontheside.com

  2. Love the lace hem! Super cute bag and adorable kitty! <333

    – Anna

    http://www.melodicthriftychic.com

  3. Poe-ka dots!!! Love it xD And Out of Print is amazing, in general 😀

  4. That hairbow is super cute! Love your outfit 🙂

  5. kiskaloo

    Powell’s is pretty amazing – as is your outfit. Have fun!